Launch

From MacDonald Hill

Well, here we are. To quote my own “About” section, “the purpose of this blog is to share the stories and landscape of Nova Scotia, to highlight topics and events pertinent to our communities and environment, and to have an open-ended discussion on what gives our province its sense of place.”

Sounds ambitious, doesn’t it? Honestly, my own words scare me more than a little. But I haven’t been studying landscape history for four years just so I could shy away from discussing what “cultural landscape” means, and I’m not going into landscape architecture to recreate the Sonoran Desert in “Canada’s Ocean Playground.”

That last bit isn’t to say I don’t appreciate the cactus garden at the Public Gardens in Halifax. But that is totally different. I’ll tell you why some day.

So is there an audience out there for this blog? I can think of three people for sure, and only two of those are related to me. Sounds like we’re on the right path.

2 Responses to “Launch”


  1. 1 nancybond 04/20/2009 at 10:14 AM

    I’m very glad to have found your blog — I’ve linked to you in my sidebar. I came here from Twitter! 🙂

    • 2 bluenosegardener 04/20/2009 at 4:22 PM

      Thanks for the comment and the link, Nancy! I’ve been a little occupied lately with my history thesis but plan to be posting more once that is accomplished. I added you to my blogroll here as well – I love Windsor, and yet I’ve never visited T.C. Haliburton’s house. I’ll have to remedy that this summer.


Leave a Reply

