Blogging on Nova Scotia’s landscape – from Guelph, Ontario

Well, I’m moved in and mostly unpacked at my apartment in Guelph.

I’ll be blogging about Nova Scotia from Ontario for the next two or three years at least. I hoped when I started this blog that it would serve as a way for me to stay connected to Nova Scotia while I bide my time doing this latest degree (which I am taking with hopes of being able to return to Nova Scotia as soon as possible with good career prospects). I hope this blog will help alleviate the homesickness and keep me tuned in to Nova Scotia’s landscape and environmental issues while I am 1,900 km away.

And of course, I am writing this post from Guelph because I finally finished, defended, and formally submitted my MA history thesis! It’s called The Road to Yesterday: Nova Scotia’s Tourism Landscape and the Automobile Age, 1920-1940. You can take a look at it in the Killam Library at Dalhousie University some time after October.

5 Responses to “Blogging on Nova Scotia’s landscape – from Guelph, Ontario”


  1. 1 The Garden Ms. S 09/06/2009 at 8:49 PM

    Congratulations on finishing up your MA! Best of luck with your continuing studies and one day you may find yourself lecturing at one of Nova Scotia’s fine universities.

    Hope to hear more about Nova Scotia while you are in Guelph.

  2. 2 LINDA from EACH LITTLE WORLD 09/07/2009 at 7:38 PM

    Congrats on the thesis and welcome to Ontario. Having grown up in Buffalo, and having friends who lived in Toronto, I spent many an hour on the highway between the two cities and can just manage to picture you in Guelph.

  3. 3 bluenosegardener 09/07/2009 at 9:03 PM

    Thank you Ms. S. and Linda! I’m just back from a walk around Guelph’s downtown, and I think it and I will deal just fine for the time I am here. That’s not to say I didn’t feel a strong wave of homesickness wash over me today when a fan blowing air in my ear reminded me strongly of a day out on the harbour sailing, but I think I can manage. And of course, I’m starting a landscape architecture degree, which will keep me very very busy!

  4. 4 nancybond 09/20/2009 at 4:24 PM

    Congrats on completing your degree! My older daughter is about to move to Alberta for a new job (she has two Science degrees in Biology and Environmental Studies) and I’m sure there will be some homesickness on both sides of the country while she’s there. Good luck to you in ON. Nova Scotia isn’t going anywhere. 🙂

    • 5 bluenosegardener 09/27/2009 at 5:06 PM

      Hi Nancy, sorry for the delay in replying and thank you for the encouragement. Landscape Architecture programs keep its students very busy. I can hear the train from my apartment and find it some compensation for missing the sea – probably something I can blame on L.M. Montgomery and her novel The Blue Castle. Maybe she found the sound of a train rumbling by offered the same sort of auditory replacement for the sea that I do.


Leave a Reply

